Posted by: rpdizzle | March 12, 2009

Pay it Forward

In this day and age good deeds are rarely comitted. But do you know what I think?  I think that’s just sad. So my motto is:  “Do a good deed and keep off the weed!” Yeah, I think that pretty much sums up how we all need to live. Every day. 24/7, 365. That’s how I’ve chosen to live.

People often say I remind them of Ghandi. I also get a lot of MLK, Abraham Lincoln, Mother Theresa, also Denzel Washington but that’s beside the point. I have made a decision to make a difference in the world, and I have drawn qiute a following…like a giant magnet. People flock to me and my motto. You didn’t hear this from me…but there have been murmurings of the Nobel Peace Prize coming my way…..just a rumor but *shrug and smirk*…who’s to say?

Today I accomplished my good deed with flying colors….if I do say so myself. My great great aunt Marie is visiting my grandmother and then they will go away for the weekend (I will miss them). They were going out for pizza and none of the rest of my family was able to go. They told me, “Are you sure you want to go? It’s going to be me (grandma) and Aunt Marie and Mel. Just three old ladies. We’re not much fun for you!” But you know, it’s not always about me. Would I have more fun staying home and doing push-ups and pumping iron? Of course….but they would have more fun if I went along. For Pete’s sake……these Golden Girls aren’t as young and spry as they used to be and if I can add a little glimmer of sunshine to their life…..why wouldn’t I? A great wise man once said “One step for man, one GIANT step for man-kind.” And in that way….this is a couple hours and 6 slices of San Biagio’s pizza for me…..but for them…..it’s the difference between dreary retirement and blissful sainthood! These are senior SAINTS!! Saints of the Lord and that means God expects us to take care of them, and He blesses us more when we take a couple hours out of our day to light up their life.

I just hope that all of you will learn a lesson from this post.

Do a good deed, and stay off the weed!!!

Shalom~


Responses

  1. Hero.

  2. Wow. Your motto is THE most inspiring phrase I have EVER heard! Too many good stuff in this note to isolate particulars. In short, amazing. And yet, I shouldn’t be surprised…

  3. That’s why I’m here. Just doing my civic duty. But you may call me Sensei if you wish young ones. . . .

  4. Wow… what an inspiration.

  5. My brother is SOOO AWESOME!! i love him more then ANYTHING!!


Leave a comment

Categories